[MSU] Lomonosov Moscow State University
Research Computer Centre

Laboratory of Automated Image Processing Systems
tel: +7(495)939-2759, fax: +7(495)939-2768
English English
 

 Inverse problems of Diagnostics

  X-ray tomography     Ultrasonic tomography     Synthetic aperture  

 

Ultrasonic tomography

Inverse problems of wave tomography arise in various applications. These include some of the inverse problems of electromagnetic sounding, seismology, civil engineering, sonar, industrial diagnosis via acoustic radiation, etc.

One of the major applications of wave tomography is ultrasound tomography in medicine. The primary task of ultrasound tomography is to perform differential diagnosis of breast cancer one of the most urgent problems in modern medicine. More than 40% of the patients have advanced breast cancer diagnosed at the first examination.

Prototypes of ultrasound tomography devices, which have a number of advantages over magnetic-resonance and x-ray tomography, are now developed extensively in the USA, Germany, Japan, and Russia [1, 2, 3], Mathematically, the inverse problems arising in ultrasound tomography are much more challenging compared to those of x-ray tomography. Ray optics model works well in x-ray tomography where inverse problems are linear and can be solved on a common PC.

Unlike x-ray tomography, ultrasound tomography uses both transmitted and reflected radiation emitted by broadband sounding sources. Detectors and sources are placed on all sides of the object examined and the signal is recorded as a time series, which makes it possible to process a very large volume of data, allowing high resolution to be achieved.

Inverse problems of ultrasound tomography can be treated as coefficient inverse problems. Let us now describe the formulation of the inverse problem. Figure 1(a) shows the schemes of tomographic experiments in the case of traditional layer-by-layer ("2.5D") tomography, where two-dimensional problems are solved on layers of a three-dimensional object. Figure 1(b) shows the scheme of 3D tomography, where the acquired experimental data are used to solve the inverse problem right away for the three-dimensional unknown function c(r), r∊R3. In Figure 1(a) the sources are labeled by digit "1" and the detectors arranged along the perimeter of the computational domain are labeled by digit "2". The sources S and detectors of ultrasound pulses in Figure 1(b) are located on the faces of the cube.

 

(a) (b)
Figure 1. Ultrasound tomography schemes:   (a) layer-by-layer 2D scheme,   (b) - 3D scheme.

 

Consider now the wave equation that describes the acoustic pressure field u(r,t) in the domain Ω⊂RN, N=2,3, confined by surface S over the time interval (0,T) with a point source located at a point r0 .

c(r)utt(r,t)-Δu(r,t)=δ(r-r0)˙f(t)

u(r,t=0)=ut(r,t=0)=0,   ∂nu|ST=p(r,t).

Here c-0.5(r)=v(r) is the unknown wave velocity in the diagnosed region. The pulse generated by the source is described by the given function f(t), nu|ST is the derivative along the normal to surface S in region S×(0,T), and p(r,t) is a known function. We further assume that the inhomogeneity of the medium is due solely to velocity variations, and outside the inhomogeneity region c(r)≡c0=const, where c0 is known. The inverse problem consists in finding a function c(r) that describes the inhomogeneity given the measurements of acoustic pressure U(r,t) at the boundary S of the domain Ω with various source positions r0 . The inverse problem is nonlinear. The number of unknowns to be determined when solving the inverse problem of ultrasound tomography on a 320×320×320 grid exceeds 10 million.

Mathematically the inverse problem is formulated as the problem of minimization of the residual functional Φ(u(c)) in the norm of L2 space  (S×(0,T)):

T
Φ(u(c))=
1
2
(u(s,t)-U(s,t))2ds dt = ||u(s,t)-U(s,t)||2
0S

The breakthrough results in the solution of ultrasound tomography problems are associated with the possibility of explicitly, analytically formulating the gradient of the residual functional [4, 5, 6]. The approach that we propose differs fundamentally from those currently employed [1-3], which use substantially higher sounding frequencies. The iterative algorithms that we developed to solve inverse problems of ultrasound tomography and the simulations performed over a wide range of parameter values allow the sounding frequencies to be reduced several times. This point is of fundamental importance, because attenuation in soft tissues depends heavily on sounding frequency. The lower the frequency, the smaller the attenuation, and hence the smaller the error of experimental data. Simulations show that about 5-mm wavelength ultrasound allows a resolution of about 2-3 mm to be achieved. In our paper [7] we propose efficient methods to solve inverse problems of ultrasound tomography in terms of models that take into account attenuation in the medium.

Figure 2 shows the results of the reconstruction in the case of layer-by-layer tomography. Figure 2(a) shows the image of a 2D phantom. Figures 2(b) and 2(c) show the reconstructed velocity structure in the case of zero- and 1.5%-error input data, respectively. The simulations were performed for eight sources with the detectors spaced 2.5 mm, i.e., half the wavelength, apart. The size of the sounding region is 200×200 mm.

 

(a) (b) (c)
Figure 2. Layer-by-layer scheme:
(a) phantom,   (b) reconstruction from exact input data;   (c) reconstruction from noisy input data with 1.5% error.

 

The minimum size of inhomogeneities in the phantom is about 2 mm. As is evident from a comparison of the initial and reconstructed images, the resulting resolution is 2-3 mm or better.

Figures 3 and 4 illustrate the capabilities of 3D tomographic schemes involving the reconstruction of the three-dimensional function (x,,z). Figures 3 (a-c) shows the cross sections of the three-dimensional phantom in several planes Z=const and Fig.3 (d-f), the cross sections of the reconstructed 3D velocity structure (x,,z) in the same planes. In our simulations we used 17 sources in a 3D tomography scheme without elements of rotation. The computations were performed on a 320×320×320 grid. As is evident from the figures, the quality of reconstruction is high, allowing inhomogeneities as small as 2mm to be reconstructed fairly well.

 

(a) (b) (c)
(d) (e) (f)
Figure 4. Cross-sections of the 3D velocity structure in Z=const planes:
(a)-(c) images of the phantom (exact sound speed);   (d)-(f) reconstructed images

 

Figure 4 shows the vertical cross sections of the phantom (a) and of the reconstructed image (b) in the X=const plane.

 

a) b)
Figure 4. Cross-section of the 3D velocity structure in X=const plane:
(a) phantom;   (b) reconstructed image

 

Figure 5 shows the profile of the reconstructed sound velocity structure along one of the A-A cross sections (shown in Figure 3(e)). As is evident from the figure, the absolute sound velocity values are reconstructed very accurately. The reconstructed and exact (phantom) sound velocity values are shown by the solid and dashed lines, respectively. We started all our simulations with the initial approximation c0(r)=const. Note that common ultrasound facilities operating in the reflection mode are in principle incapable of reconstructing the absolute value of sound velocity in an inhomogeneous medium.

 

Figure 5. Plot of the reconstructed velocity structure along the A-A line

 

Three-dimensional inverse problems of ultrasound tomography can be solved only with supercomputers. The algorithms that we developed to this end are highly scalable, up to petaflops-level supercomputers based on general-purpose processors, and were tested on "Lomonosov" supercomputer of Moscow State University Supercomputing Center (Moscow, Russia). However, because of their technical parameters, general-purpose supercomputers cannot be incorporated into ultrasound tomographic facilities. We developed efficient algorithms that allow inverse problems of ultrasound tomography both in the layer-by-layer 2.5D and explicit 3D formulation to be solved on GPU-based supercomputers. The number of parallel operating graphical processors is equal to that of the sources employed. The technical parameters of GPU-based supercomputers allow them to be incorporated into tomographic facilities as autonomous computing units.

References

1. J. Wiskin, D. T. Borup, S. A. Johnson, and M. Berggren. Non-linear inverse scattering: High resolution quantitative breast tissue tomography, - J. Acoust. Soc. Am. Volume 131, Issue 5, pp. 3802-3813 (2012);

2. Duric N, Littrup P, Poulo L, Babkin A, Pevzner R, Holsapple E, Rama 0, Glide C. Detection of breast cancer with ultrasound tomography: First results with the Computed Ultrasound Risk Evaluation (CURE) prototype. Medical Physics 2007;34:773-785.

3. H. Gemmeke, A. Menshikov, D. Tchernikovski, L. Berger, G. G?bel, M. Birk, M. Zapf and N.V. Ruiter: Hardware Setup for the Next Generation of 3D Ultrasound Computer Tomography. IEEE NSS MIC 2010.

4. Natterer F., Wubbeling F., A propagation-backpropagation method for uzltrasound tomography. Inverse Problems 11, 1225-1232 (1995) IOP Publishing Ltd.

[PDF] 5. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY. Supercomputer technologies in inverse problems of ultrasound tomography. Inverse Probl. 2013;29:075004.

[PDF] 6. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY, Seryozhnikov SY. Inverse problems of 3D ultrasonic tomography with complete and incomplete range data. Wave motion 2014;51:389-404.

[PDF] 7. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY. Inverse problems of ultrasound tomography in models with attenuation. Phys Med Biol. 2014 Apr 21;59(8):1979-2004. doi: 10.1088/0031-9155/59/8/1979. Epub 2014 Apr 2.

8. Goncharsky A.V, Romanov S.Y, Seryozhnikov S.Y. A computer simulation study of soft tissue characterization using low-frequency ultrasonic tomography. Ultrasonics 2016;67:136-150.

[PDF] 9. Goncharsky A.V, Romanov S.Y, Seryozhnikov S.Y. SUPERCOMPUTER TECHNOLOGIES IN DEVELOPMENT OF DIAGNOSTIC TOMOGRAPHY FACILITIES (in Russian) - SPb.:Politechnical University publishing, 2016. - 230 p.

[MSU] Московский Государственый университет им.М.В.Ломоносова
Научно-исследовательский вычислительный центр

Лаборатория разработки систем автоматизации обработки изображений
тел: +7(495)939-2759, факс: +7(495)939-2768
English English
Русский Русский

 Обратные задачи диагностики

  X-Ray томография     Ультразвуковая томография     РЛС с синтезированной апертурой  

 

 Ультразвуковая томография

Обратные задачи волновой томографии возникают в самых различных приложениях. К таким задачам относятся некоторые обратные задачи электромагнитного зондирования, сейсмики, инженерной сейсмики, гидролокации, диагностике промышленных изделий с помощью акустического излучения и т.п.

Одним из важнейших приложений волновой томографии является ультразвуковая томография в медицине. В первую очередь ультразвуковая томография призвана решать проблемы дифференциальной диагностики рака молочной железы – одной из самых актуальных проблем современной медицины. У более чем 40 % пациентов при первом обследовании молочной железы диагностируется рак поздней стадии.

В настоящее время в США, Германии, Японии и России интенсивно разрабатываются макеты ультразвуковых томографических установок [1, 2, 3], которые имеют целый ряд преимуществ в сравнении с магнитно-резонансной и рентгеновской томографиями. С математической точки зрения обратные задачи, возникающие в ультразвуковой томографии, являются намного более сложными по сравнению с обратными задачами рентгеновской томографии. В рентгеновской томографии хорошо работает модель геометрической оптики. Обратные задачи рентгеновской томографии являются линейными. Для их решения вполне достаточно обычного персонального компьютера.

В отличие от рентгеновской томографии, в ультразвуковой томографии используется как прошедшее, так и отраженное излучение, испущенное широкополосными источниками зондирующих импульсов. Источники и приемники располагаются со всех сторон от исследуемого объекта, регистрируемый сигнал записывается во времени, что дает возможность обрабатывать большой объем данных, позволяющий получать высокое разрешение.

Обратные задачи ультразвуковой томографии можно рассматривать как коэффициентные обратные задачи. Приведем постановку обратной задачи. На Рис 1а приведена схемы томографических экспериментов при традиционной послойной 2.5D томографии, когда последовательно решаются двумерные задачи на слоях трехмерного объекта. На рис. 1б приведена схема 3D томографии, когда по собранным экспериментаьлным данным обратная задача решается сразу относительно трехмерной неизвестной функции c(r), r∊R3. На Рис.1а источники обозначены цифрой 1, a приемники, расположенные по периметру расчётной области – цифрой 2. На Рис.1б источники S и приемники ультразвуковых импульсов располагаются на гранях куба.

 

а) б)
Рис.1 Схема УЗИ томографии: a - послойная схема, b - 3D схема.

 

Рассмотрим волновое уравнение, которое описывает акустическое поле u(r,t) в области Ω⊂RN, N=2,3, ограниченной поверхностью S в течение времени (0,T) с точечным источником, располагающимся в точке r0 .

c(r)utt(r,t)-Δu(r,t)=δ(r-r0)˙f(t)

u(r,t=0)=ut(r,t=0)=0,   ∂nu|ST=p(r,t).

Здесь c-0.5(r)=v(r) является неизвестной скоростью волны в диагностируемой области. Генерируемый источником импульс описывается заданной функцией f(t), nu|ST - производная вдоль нормали к поверхности S в области S×(0,T), p(r,t) - некоторая известная функция. Будем предполагать, что неоднородность среды вызвана только изменениями скорости, а вне области неоднородности c(r)≡c0=const, где c0 - известна. Обратная задача состоит в нахождении функции c(r), описывающую неоднородность, по экспериментальным данным измерения акустического давления U(r,t) на границе S области Ω при различных положениях r0 источника. Обратная задача является нелинейной. При решении обратной задачи ультразвуковой томографии на сетке 320х320х320 количество неизвестных превышает 10 миллионов.

Математически обратная задача ставится как задача минимизации функционала невязки Φ(u(c)) в норме пространства L2 (S×(0,T)):

T
Φ(u(c))=
1
2
(u(s,t)-U(s,t))2ds dt = ||u(s,t)-U(s,t)||2
0S

Прорывные результаты в области решения задач ультравзуковой томографии связаны с возможностью явно выписать выражение для градиента функционала невязки [4, 5, 6]. Предлагаемый в наших работах подход принципиально отличается от существующих разработок [1-3], в которых используются существенно более высокие частоты зондирования. Разработанные нами итерационные алгоритмы решения обратных задач ультразвуковой томографии и проведенные модельные исследования в широком диапазоне параметров позволяют в несколько раз снизить частоты зондирования. Этот момент является принципиальным поскольку поглощение в мягких тканях сильно зависит от частоты зондирования. Чем меньше частота, тем меньше поглощение, а следовательно и ошибка экспериментальных данных. Как показывают модельные эксперименты, при длине волны ультразвуковых волн порядка 5 мм можно достигать разрешение порядка 2-3 мм. В работе [7] предложены эффективные методы решения обратных задач УЗИ томографии в моделях, учитывающих поглощение в среде.

На рис.2 приведены результаты реконструкции для послойной 2.5D томографии. На рис.2а приведено изображение 2D фантома. На рис.2б приведены результаты реконструкции скорости звука без погрешности во входных данных. На рис.2в приведены результаты реконструкции при погрешности входных данных 1.5%. Модельные расчеты проводились для 8 источников. Расстояние между детекторами составляло 2.5 мм - половину длины волны. Размер области зондирования - 200×200 мм.

 

а) б) в)
Рис.2. Послойная схема:
а) фантом, б) реконструкция с точными данными, в) реконструкция с ошибкой 1.5%

 

Минимальные размеры неоднородности на фантоме составляют порядка 2 мм. Из сопоставления исходного и восстановленных изображений видно, что полученная разрешающая способность не хуже 2-3 мм.

Рисунки 3 и 4 иллюстрируют возможности томографических схем в задаче 3D томографии, когда восстанавливается трехмерная функция с(x,у,z). На Рис.3 (а-в) приведены сечения трёхмерного фантома в различных плоскостях Z=const, На Рис.3 (г-е) - сечения восстановленного 3D распределения скорости звука с(x,у,z) в этих же плоскостях. В модельных расчётах использовалось 17 источников в томографической 3D схеме без элементов вращения. Расчеты проводились на сетке 320×320×320. Видно, что качество реконструкции высокое, достаточно хорошо восстанавливаются даже неоднородности размера порядка 2 мм.

 

а) б) в)
г) д) е)
Рис.3 Результаты реконструкции 3D объекта в плоскости Z=const:
a-в - сечения фантома, г-е - восстановленные изображения

 

На рис.4 приведены вертикальные сечения фантома (a) и реконструированного изображения (b) в плоскости X=const.

 

а) б)
Рис.4 Результаты реконструкции 3D объекта в плоскости X=const:
а) фантом, б) реконструированное изображение

 

На рис.5 приведён график восстановленной скорости звука на однм из сечений A-A (рис.3д). Видно, что достигается высокая точность реконструкции абсолютных значений функции скорости звука. Восстановленное значение изображено сплошной линией, точное (фантом) - пунктирной. Все расчёты модельных задач проводились с начального приближения c0(r)=const. Отметим, что использование традиционных ультразвуковых установок, работающих на отражение, в принципе не даёт возможности восстановления абсолютного значения скорости распространения звука в неоднородной среде.

 

Рис.5 график восстановленной скорости звука на линии A-A

 

Решение нелинейных трехмерных обратных задач УЗИ томографии невозможно без использования суперкомпьютеров. Разработанные алгоритмы решения обратных задач являются сверхмасштабируемыми на суперкомпьютерах петафлопсного уровня на процессорах общего назначения и испытаны на суперкомпьютере «Ломоносов» Суперкомпьютерного комплекса МГУ (Россия, Москва). Однако суперкомпьютеры общего назначения по своим техническим характеристикам не могут быть использованы в составе ультразвуковых томографических комплексов. Разработаны эффективные алгоритмы, решающие обратные задачи ультразвуковой томографии как в послойном 2.5D варианте, так и в 3D варианте, на суперкомпьютерах с графическими процессорами (GPU). Количество параллельно используемых графических процессоров совпадает с количеством используемых источников. GPU-cуперкомпьютеры по своим техническим характеристикам вполне могут быть использованы как автономные вычислители в составе томографических комплексов.

Литература

1. J. Wiskin, D. T. Borup, S. A. Johnson, and M. Berggren. Non-linear inverse scattering: High resolution quantitative breast tissue tomography, - J. Acoust. Soc. Am. Volume 131, Issue 5, pp. 3802-3813 (2012);

2. Duric N, Littrup P, Poulo L, Babkin A, Pevzner R, Holsapple E, Rama 0, Glide C. Detection of breast cancer with ultrasound tomography: First results with the Computed Ultrasound Risk Evaluation (CURE) prototype. Medical Physics 2007;34:773-785.

3. H. Gemmeke, A. Menshikov, D. Tchernikovski, L. Berger, G. G?bel, M. Birk, M. Zapf and N.V. Ruiter: Hardware Setup for the Next Generation of 3D Ultrasound Computer Tomography. IEEE NSS MIC 2010.

4. Natterer F., Wubbeling F., A propagation-backpropagation method for uzltrasound tomography. Inverse Problems 11, 1225-1232 (1995) IOP Publishing Ltd.

[PDF] 5. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY. Supercomputer technologies in inverse problems of ultrasound tomography. Inverse Probl. 2013;29:075004.

[PDF] 6. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY, Seryozhnikov SY. Inverse problems of 3D ultrasonic tomography with complete and incomplete range data. Wave motion 2014;51:389-404.

[PDF] 7. Goncharsky AV, Romanov SY. Inverse problems of ultrasound tomography in models with attenuation. Phys Med Biol. 2014 Apr 21;59(8):1979-2004. doi: 10.1088/0031-9155/59/8/1979. Epub 2014 Apr 2.

8. Goncharsky A.V, Romanov S.Y, Seryozhnikov S.Y. A computer simulation study of soft tissue characterization using low-frequency ultrasonic tomography. Ultrasonics 2016;67:136-150.

[PDF] 9. А. В. Гончарский, С. Ю. Романов, С. Ю. Серёжников. СУПЕРКОМПЬЮТЕРНЫЕ ТЕХНОЛОГИИ В ЗАДАЧАХ ПРОЕКТИРОВАНИЯ ТОМОГРАФИЧЕСКИХ ДИАГНОСТИЧЕСКИХ КОМПЛЕКСОВ – СПб. : Изд-во Политехн. ун-та, 2016. – 230 с.